There’s no business like show business

Why do I do this to myself? Oh yeah, I have weird hobbies.

Tonight was my final for my acting class. A 30 minute monologue that I had spent the entire semester memorizing.

I don’t think pastors even talk that long. Let’s see, if a church service is an hour….

There’s usually 20 minutes of singing, at least in a Baptist church. Then there are announcements and a cheesy video to introduce the subject. That should take maybe 5-8 minutes, depending on how long the video is. Then at the end there’s offering, reminder about the announcements, a soulful song that you’re supposed to just sit and listen to, then you have to fight your way through the crowd to even get to the parking lot. That should take maybe another 10 minutes. That leaves about 20 minutes for the actual pastor.

But I digress. I don’t know if acting is the right career for me. I certainly love performing, but I just don’t have the energy to keep up anymore. I may just stick to being a playwright.

Having an acting/dance/figure skating background has certainly helped with my writing, though. I know how bodies and brains work. I know thought processes and personalities and character dynamics.

I also know the most important thing. The rule of threes. It’s when you’re listing something, you always make sure to list three things.

Anyways, that’s all I’ve got for today. I just now realized that all I’ve eaten today was a chocolate chip cookie because I’ve been too distracted by my nerves.

My major accomplishment today was that I was somehow able to gift wrap a kitchen trash can. It wasn’t easy, but I somehow did it.

Leave a Reply

