Invisible Illness Awareness Week: Day Three

Well, I’ve transitioned pretty well into this school year. The most annoying thing so far has been the new rules at work. The library is no longer offering public access to non-students and having to individually check the IDs of every single person who walks into the library.

Bleh.

I’m still having a bit of an issue with stairs. I try to take them when I can, but there are times where I’d rather just save my spoons and take the elevator. I get a little self conscious whenever I do, though, even if I’m alone. I’m not in a wheelchair and I’m not on crutches. 

Taking the elevator is something only “lazy” people are supposed to do.

Sometimes I just would like to get a cane so I won’t get weird looks for taking the elevator to the second floor. 

I may or may not need one anyways. The main reason why I don’t wear a knee brace anymore is that I’d need them for both knees and like every day. It’d just look silly. I know most people probably don’t even care that I take the elevator, but there’s always that nagging voice at the back of my head.

I always joke how skating is what ruined my body, but everything I went through during then was generally tolerable until these past couple years. I don’t think this is skating related anymore. 

Until then, I gotta deal with my old lady joint problems one day at a time. 

Leave a Reply

