Invisible Illness Awareness Week: Day One

I finally had my post hospital check up with my GI and boy was it a whirlwind. For once, I actually wasn’t the youngest person in the waiting room. I finally got to meet the son of one of the nurses I got to talk to when I was first diagnosed with ulcerative colitis. He has it as well. He’s also apparently on the same medication I’m going to be on soon: Imuran. He was just there for a monthly check up with it.

I sat in the office for quite a while, but that’s how doctor’s visits normally go. You hurry up to get there because you always seem to be running late, but then you end up having to wait nearly an hour extra anyways. It’s super ridiculous.

When my doctor came in, we talked about the new medication I was going to be put on. He warned me first about the possible side effects: low blood count, pancreatitis, or jaundice. Getting a blood test done will help check if any of that could happen to me. He also said that if it still does happen, it usually shows up within the first month of treatment.

The one thing he did leave out was whether I’m getting back on Remicade or not. I haven’t had an infusion since late July. He might not since I had an allergic reaction to it last time and he said it made him worried to try it again. Although I did hear that he said he wanted an infusion done for me by next week. I’m pretty sure Imuran is an oral medication, but who knows. Maybe it works better as an infusion.

I’ve been trying to do some research on this one other medicine that I know is an infusion called Envityo, but I haven’t been able to find anything. The only relevant thing that shows up is a Buzzfeed article from a couple months ago. All I know is that it’s a biologic like Remicade.

There’s not even a WebMD page for it, so you know it’s still super new.

Well, tomorrow I’m going to get my blood drawn for the millionth time, probably. The bruises on my arms that I got in the hospital haven’t even healed yet. If all goes well, maybe this will take me a step closer to the idea of my illness going into remission.

At this point, though, I highly doubt I’ll ever reach remission without surgery.

Edit: Turns out that I’ve spelled “Entyvio” wrong, which is why I had such a hard time finding anything about it. Whoopsie.

Leave a Reply

