A New Diagnosis

One thing that I left out from my update yesterday is that I was diagnosed with a new illness. I now have type 2 diabetes. It’s because of the Prednisone that my body has become so dependent on. A side effect is that your blood sugar can skyrocket while you’re on it and that’s exactly what happened to me. It was more likely to happen because I have several family members with both types, but mostly type 1. It was only a matter of time.

Basically, Prednisone is now hurting me more than it’s helping me, but if I’m to ever get off of it, I’m going to end up in the hospital again.

In the hospital, they had done a three month test on my blood to see if it’s been high for that long and it has. Well… I’ve been on the steroids almost constantly since March. I’ve been off of them for maybe a little over a week total since then. I literally can’t get off of this medication until I start on some sort of alternative that can suppress my immune system since Remicade didn’t work long enough.

Now that school’s started again, things have gotten kinda rocky with how my health can hold up. I feel like my friends expect me to keel over at almost any second with the questions of people asking how I’m doing.

I’m not really mad or annoyed or anything, obviously. I know it’s because they care or they’re curious to how I’m still even kicking. It’s just funny to hear them ask something and see their eyes saying something else as they look me over. Invisible illnesses are tricky like that. With a cold, you can see someone’s runny nose and pale face. With me, there’s just about nothing. At this point, you can only see the bruises on my arms as proof that I was in the hospital.

And maybe my hospital wrist band, if you’re looking for it. I’m still wearing that for some reason.

I’m now on a new medication called Janumet. My mom was on it for a while and she said it’s worked a miracle on her. I’m not sure what to think. She had my primary care doctor put me on it even though my doctor in the hospital suggested two other medications for me.

I guess it’s better for me that I’m taking one medication instead of two. I already breakfast on a steady diet of at least six medications to start off my day. Most of them horse pill sized.

One thing I’ve discovered, though, is that I need to eat before I take Janumet. It tends to make me a bit nauseous if I don’t. This makes my morning dose a little difficult because I’m not much of a breakfast eater.

I know, I know. Shh.

But I’ve taken this news pretty well since the 23rd of August. I had received news months ago that I had the mark of high blood sugar show up in a blood test. A second test was done, which confirmed the first test. Then a third test was done at my primary care doctor’s office, which had said that my blood sugar was normal. That test alone dashed my fears for several months, but here we are now with an official diagnosis for diabetes.

Watch out, world, this ulcerative pancolitic diabetic doesn’t have much left to lose.

Leave a Reply

