The Mega Update

I definitely have some apologizing to do with my absence from this blog. I didn’t expect things to go wrong as long as they did. My health took a sharp nose dive into the abyss that is reality when I had to take my leave. I had nothing but depressing news that I was overwhelmed with to process.

My Tumblr friends can attest to that after dealing with my complaining for so long. I’m surprised I still have followers left.

After my day in the ER with the high fever, I was given antibiotics to get over the UTI I had. The fever and nausea had me miserable. However, it turned out I was allergic to those (I’m allergic to literally nothing, surprisingly) antibiotics and they caused a bad flare up of my ulcerative colitis. I was off of Prednisone at the time for a little over a week, so I had nothing really to help me. I started bleeding again, I was nauseous, had zero appetite, and I was throwing up anything I tried eating.

I knew something was wrong and nothing I could do could help. My mom just tried to get me to eat soup.

I called my GI doctor on the morning of August 13th to ask what I should do. He wasn’t in that morning, so they said that he could call me back once he got into the office. I just went back to sleep while waiting and woke up with a fever again. I needed help right away, but everyone else in my family was too busy to take me to the ER. My mom and younger brother were busy taking my cats to the vet, my dad was at work, and my older brothers were busy with their jobs. My grandma could’ve taken me, but she never leaves her house anymore.

I sucked it up eventually and drove myself to the ER. I packed up everything because I knew it was going to be another long stay. I wish I had gone a bit earlier because of how long it ended up taking to get help. The waiting room in an ER in a full hospital is the actual worst. 

I felt bad for the nurses because when they drew my blood when I was getting processed. I ended up getting almost passing out, but throwing up on an empty stomach happened instead. It was a great feeling. They gave me Zofran and IV fluids right away, so I was already hooked up just sitting in the waiting room. I was mostly annoyed because they wouldn’t even let me drink water to get the lovely stomach bile taste out of my mouth.

It was 2 in the morning by the time I was given a hospital room, where they immediately had me started on a Golitely treatment for a colonoscopy the next morning. They wanted me to finish it by 4 am, but there was no way I was going to be able to do that. That stuff does not mess around. I did finish it by my procedure, so I guess it was mission accomplished. 

I’ll never get over how bad Golitely tastes. It’s ruined any lemon lime drink that I could ever drink for the rest of my life. 

Good bye forever, Sprite and 7Up. I won’t miss you much at all.

When I woke up from my colonoscopy, I was alone. Everyone was busy with their own lives, so I was left to deal with the brunt of the bad news. My condition has gotten even worse from how I was in early June. Even with the Remicade treatments I’ve been going through.

It had worked for a short time, but I had had an allergic reaction to it and it didn’t work as long as it was supposed to. I blame how mixed up everything got with the scheduling of it.

My GI told me that if the steroid treatments that he’s going to put me on don’t work, then I’ll have to talk to a surgeon.

I almost broke down then and there, but he quickly left and I just stared blankly (and blindly, since I didn’t have my glasses on) at the wall until they moved me back to my hospital room. My heart sank into the floor. Hearing such an ultimatum just numbed me. Once I was settled back in, I went straight to sleep. I just didn’t want to think anymore.

When I woke up, I was told that my insurance doesn’t cover the hospital I walked in to. I was super confused since I had spent my June hospital stay at that exact same hospital. Luckily they were able to move me to a hospital I had gone to for my first kidney stone through an ambulance.

It was super weird. Ambulances are much more cramped that I would’ve expected. Also the stretcher is pulled up super high compared to a gurney. I was raised up higher than I am tall, so it was funny being so high up while sitting. The paramedics I was with were super cool, though. They shit talked other people they’ve had to deal with once they realized how chill I was. I guess that’s the perks of being a young sick person.

I still don’t consider myself much of an adult.

Maybe an adult cat. I can take care of myself mostly, but I still need some help.

I got settled into my new hospital room easily enough. I started channel flipping on the TV and they had more stations available, so I feel like my conditions have improved. Also, the Spongebob movie was on Nickelodeon, so I was set for the night. 

That night was the roughest out of all the days I stayed. I was completely alone with my thoughts. It was just so much for me to hear that I might have to have my colon removed. I guess it’s not as dramatic as having to get a leg amputated or something, but I was terrified, even though I know it would instantly cure me to have it removed.

The next morning, a surgeon came in to talk to me. He said first thing that surgery is something that he wanted to avoid at all costs. It’s going to be a very last resort. He also took me off food and increased my IV fluids to make up for it. It was a little over three days that I had nothing but water and ice chips to chomp on when I was bored.

Meal times used to be my way of passing the time in the hospital. It was a routine. I no longer had that. It was a long three days.

Hunger was a surprising non issue, though. I guess having been nauseous for over a week already, my stomach lost its appeal for food. My taste buds were the main ones who suffered in this. If I were to ever doze off, I’d daydream about eating a cheeseburger. I don’t know why cheeseburger, honestly. But I’d catch myself softly biting into nothing/the imaginary cheeseburger.

Needless to say, once I got back on a regular diet, I ordered a cheeseburger.

My stay this time around ended up being the longest its ever been. 10 days and I barely got out in time for school. I feel like I got out when I did because I had mentioned to my GI doctor that I wanted to be ready for school. I don’t want to fall behind because my immune system can’t cut it. My future shouldn’t have to suffer for that. I want some sort of normalcy to work toward once a cure is found that doesn’t involve me having to get my large intestine cut out.

So… yeah, I’m so sorry about not updating anything for so long. That’s just the back story of the whirlwind I’m caught up in now. It’ll be a bit harder to do this daily since school’s started again, but I’m going to work my hardest to keep this up. I owe it to myself.

2 thoughts on “The Mega Update”

  1. I’m so sorry you’re going through all of this. Having a disease like IBD flare up is horrible, and going through it alone makes it even more difficult. You’re in my thoughts and prayers, and I hope that surgery can be avoided. Gentle hugs sent your way.

Leave a Reply

