Rose Tint My World

Yeah, I know I forgot to make a post yesterday, but it was for a good reason! I finally got out to do things! Outside! With people!

It’s been weeks since I’ve felt up to going out with friends again. In this case it was just one friend, but who cares. I feel great!

It was to see a midnight showing of Rocky Horror Picture Show in Houston. The dress up theme was Harry Potter, so that’s the main reason why my friend had invited me. I had wanted to go to a show before, but I’d never had anyone to go with. 

Not having anyone to go with is usually my main problem with me attending things. It’s either that or I’m not feeling well. Sometimes, if I’m lucky, it’s both. 

It was nice to escape into the world of Rocky Horror for a while and forget all these problems that have been happening. I live in fear of the possibility of having to get a colostomy bag someday in the future, but I have a plan that will make it easier to deal with. I have it all planned out. If I ever have to get one, I’m going to get a semi-colon tattooed on me. Partly for that deep meaning of me not being done with my life yet, but mostly for the pun.

Because of that, I’m ok with the idea.

I often use humor to deal with things. Self deprecation is a personal favorite, but sometimes I’ve had people take it as me being healthier than I actually am. That then usually causes me to push myself harder than I probably should, and then I get sicker. I end up in the hospital, make some jokes about getting super powers during my blood transfusion, make some poop jokes as I’m going through colonoscopy prep… It goes on.

And thus the vicious cycle continues.

My rose tinted viewpoint on life is my habit of escapism into fictional worlds. I take the well being of made up characters seriously. I have ever since I was little and had gotten hooked into The Babysitter’s Club book series. I had a whole bookshelf full of them until I eventually grew out of them. Each book was from a different girl’s perspective, so it was interesting seeing the story unfold with different voices. The characters were pretty diverse, too, at least for their time. I guess they were published in the 80s or 90s maybe?

I’m too lazy to look it up.

One time I had someone tell me that escapism was a bad thing. I still don’t understand why. I’m still with it in terms to keeping up with reality, so I don’t see anything wrong with it. Sure, my obsession with Harry Potter may have tipped over the edge every once in a while, but I’ve reeled back since then.

I say as long as you aren’t jumping out in front of your favorite band’s tour bus at every concert, I think you’re ok, but that’s just me. A rose tinted world is a nice distraction from pain.

 

Leave a Reply

