Second Remicade Day Log

Today was definitely an interesting one. It was my first time getting a medical treatment as an outpatient that wasn’t dental work or getting my tonsils removed.

So technically it wasn’t my first time???

Anyways, it was at least my first time going alone. It wasn’t too bad until I had to deal with the money part in this whole process. I did keep a time log like I had wanted to, though. Here it is.

9:30 a.m. – Somehow woke up before my alarm. I decided to get up after a couple minutes to take a shower early.

10:10 a.m. – Finished morning routine and started getting dressed.

10:17 a.m. – Started getting a ridiculous amount of phone calls from my mom. She forgot to give me a check for the payment for the infusion. She’d hang up before I could tell her anything else.

10:20 a.m. – Got distracted by the internet.

10:42 a.m. – Another phone call from Mom. “ARE YOU ON YOUR WAY YET? I HAVE THE CHECK READY FOR YOU TO PICK UP FROM THE RESTAURANT.” “I’m working on it.” 

10:54 a.m. – Got to restaurant, got a check, got breakfast/lunch.

11:20 a.m. – Left for the hospital to get the infusion done.

11:56 a.m. – Arrived at the hospital. I had a terrible parking spot. Having a handicapped parking sticker wouldn’t have helped me either because all of those spots were taken too. 

11:58 a.m. – I was given a restaurant buzzer kinda thing. I got it because I had to first register with the hospital before getting my infusion done.

12:00 p.m. – I found out that there was free wifi. I was very happy about that because I definitely forgot to bring a book. 

12:16 p.m. – I noticed that there was a snack bar in the lobby and I was debating on whether I should get a soda or something.

12:17 p.m. – Decided to get a soda. I got root beer. It was an excellent decision.

12:20 p.m. – I went to go sit back down and saw that half of a grumpy looking elderly couple had stolen the chair I had been sitting in. I was slightly miffed about it and spitefully sat across from them and started playing on my phone. I sure taught them a thing or two.

12:25 p.m. – I finally got called back for registration.

12:30 p.m. – It’s my appointment time and we’re nowhere near finished with everything.

12:38 p.m. – I apparently owed even more than I thought I did for my insurance’s deductible.

12:40 p.m. – I call my mom before writing the check to make sure everything’s ok. It wasn’t. People on another end of where I was start checking through my account to make sure everything is how it should be.

12:47 p.m. – I wrote down “I’m gonna need a drink after this” and I was so right.

12:48 p.m. – I finished my root beer.

1:01 p.m. – An agreement to partial payment has finally been made. I quickly write out the check and and the urge to urinate increases.

1:13 p.m. – I finally get the chance to go to the bathroom. It was glorious.

1:17 p.m. – I’ve made my way to the infusion center and dumbly stood in front of closed frosted glass windows.

1:24 p.m. – I’ve apparently grown a half an inch since I was last properly measured.

1:30 p.m. – Already an hour late. I warn the nurse that I was a hard stick and that butterfly needles were usually used on me.

1:31 p.m. – The first attempt with putting in the IV was a failure, but this time it wasn’t my vein’s fault! The little plastic tube part went in bent, so nothing was flushing through.

1:35 p.m. – A different nurse tried and ended blowing out one of my veins. I made the mistake of looking at my hand and gasped at what it looked like. It looked like a marble was stuck under my skin! It surprisingly didn’t hurt nearly as much as it looked.

1:40 p.m. – Finally a successful stick! I wasn’t a fan of how part of the tubing was wrapped around my finger, but I dealt with it.

1:44 p.m. – My nurse and I went over medicines and medical histories. Woo hoo for awkward questions about ever wanting to kill myself.

1:48 p.m. – I was given a dose of a medication that I don’t know the name of. I honestly couldn’t tell you.

1:52 p.m. – I finally got the TV remote. I flipped around until I got to Cartoon Network. Teen Titans Go was on. Not sure how I feel about it. I prefer the regular Teen Titans, I think.

1:59 p.m. – I got Benadryl through an infusion instead of a direct injection through my IV like last time. I think I like that better because it made me less loopy. 

2:05 p.m. – My nurse took my temperature and apparently I was running a fever. No surprises there. She asked me if I wanted anything to drink and she started listing out things. I said Gatorade was fine.

2:07 p.m. – Chugged down my Gatorade.

2:16 p.m. – I start feeling the effects of the Benadryl and I start taking cat naps.

2:22 p.m. – I started taking pictures of my IV for Instagram because I’m totes a hipster.

2:31 p.m. – The Benadryl is done and the Remicade now starts.

2:56 p.m. – A live action version of a Scooby Doo movie comes on, but it isn’t one of the ones I’ve seen. It was about them working at a country club and there are frog monsters.

There’s nothing documented during the 3 o’clock hour. I think I dozed off or was watching the movie. During this time there was an elderly lady in the infusion room for a little while.

4:04 p.m. – I start feeling slight abdominal pain and my finger tips start feeling itchy.

4:25 p.m. – My hands and feet are now bright red and very itchy. I point this out to my nurse.

4:30 p.m. – My elbows start getting itchy too.

4:35 p.m. – My infusion is stopped to see if I need more Benadryl. I was about 90% done with it anyways.

4:55 p.m. – I’m finally approved to get more Benadryl. It gets injected in this time and I’m knocked out like a light. 

5:23 p.m. – I get my IV taken out and my blood pressure is taken one last time.

5:26 p.m. – Finally getting out of bed to leave.

6:00 p.m. – Finally home from the hospital.

Apparently getting red and itchy is a serious side effect that you have to watch out for with Remicade. I hope that doesn’t mean that I have to switch medications already. 

Fingers crossed that this isn’t going to be a consistent thing.

Leave a Reply

