Unsolicited Advice

This fatigue is starting to get ridiculous again. I keep waking up as tired as I was when I went to sleep. I made a status on Facebook today complaining about this and people just took this as a time to suggest sleep aids. That’s not what I wanted! I even said that I’ve probably already tried what anyone was going to suggest and I was absolutely right. I can sleep just fine. It’s just feeling rested is my problem.

Anyways, I wasn’t even asking for advice. I was complaining. Apparently I can’t even do that anymore.

I’ve been taking naps, but I don’t want to sleep through my entire day. Sleeping all day is super boring.

Then it was suggested that I exercise more when it just is nothing but a flare trigger. I found that out last summer when I was severely anemic. I thought I was just out of shape, but it would make me need to run to the bathroom or throw up instead. It’s honestly not worth it.

Also, it’s really hot outside and raining all the time and I hate the heat and humidity.

I have a doctor’s appointment tomorrow, so I’ll make sure to mention my fatigue to him. I’m not sure what he’d suggest, but it’s better than nothing. Maybe it’ll improve my increasingly grouchy mood in the long run, too.

I’m thinking I’m going to start taking melatonin, but I’ve heard so many mixed reviews about it when it comes to the side effects on those with ulcerative colitis. Some say that it’s worked just fine and others say that it’s triggered painful flare ups. I’m not sure what to do, so I’ll ask my doctor about that too.

Unsolicited advice was the name of the game today. This is pretty common in the world of invisible illnesses. People think that their opinions are important when we’ve heard the same shit over and over that doesn’t work. 

Also, people need to stop saying things are normal. I know seeing undigested food and medication in the toilet isn’t normal. It’s alarming. It’s something that’s not right with my body that needs to be fixed.

 

I’ll listen to you when you have a doctorate in medicine. Until then, I’m going to listen to my body.

3 thoughts on “Unsolicited Advice”

  1. When people tell me to “get an early night” because I’m exhausted, despite all my naps, I explain to them that it’s not a lack of energy in terms of I’ve done too much or got too little sleep. I ask them to think of a time they had the flu or a bad virus (not a common cold) and ask how exhausted they felt. Then I explain that’s because their body is expending SO much energy to fight the infection. Then I say “well imagine your body was doing that every day, but instead of fighting an infection, your body is fighting itself”. Some people suddenly realise what I mean, some people glaze over and give me great advice about chamomile tea or whatever! But worth a try 😉 One day I won’t be able to resist the temptation to blurt out “I’m exhausted from trying to explain things to people like you!” Haha

Leave a Reply

