Sunday Recovery Day

I did a thing yesterday

So I’m a bit more worn out that I expected from my adventures from yesterday. My legs are sore and my pain level is about a 5. It’s definitely not as bad as it’s been, but I am pretty tired. Not quite tired enough to be able to nap through the noise in my house, though. Every TV is on and my brother is blasting some sort of video game in the next room. Peace and quiet can only be achieved if your the only one home in my household. Even then the dog will probably start barking at nothing randomly.

On the bright side, I finally got a new mattress. My old one was older than I am, so I’m glad for the change. The only downside is that it’s my dead step-grandfather’s old mattress and that it’s too long for my bed frame. At this point, I’m not really allowed to be picky since my old mattress had springs poking out of it and would stab at me in the middle of the night. I deal with enough pain as it is. Plus, I’m pretty sure it’s a Tempur-Pedic…

Being an introvert, I need to let myself recharge along with the fact that I have a chronic illness that causes fatigue. Here are some things I usually end up doing on my personal recovery days:

  • Eat. Because food is delicious. Calories mean nothing on these days.
  • Hydrate. I have this jug that I got from the hospital that I’m pretty sure is a liter big. I try to go through as many of those as I can.
  • Nap. I try to avoid taking long ones. Maybe 30 minutes to an hour tops.
  • Stretch. I don’t do this as much as I should. It usually just depends on my energy level for the day.
  • Read. As an English major, this is a mandatory hobby. I’m currently reading An Abundance of Katherines by John Green. It’s a lot different from his writing style in The Fault in Our Stars, so it’s a bit weird to read now.
  • Catch up on TV shows. I’m currently watching the Game Grumps (it’s a YouTube channel) play Pokémon FireRed and Merlin, next I’m planning on finishing up Game of Thrones because I’ve only seen the first season, then I’m gonna watch season 2 of Orange is the New Black. Avoiding spoilers has been the hardest thing.for these shows.
  • Video games. Again, this depends on my energy levels. I don’t play as many video games as I used to. It’s weird that I haven’t been playing very many considering I’ve been playing them since before I could read properly. I’m pretty sure it was Pokémon Gold that taught me how to read faster.
  • Write. Hey, look at that. I’m doing this right now. I really would like to get published for fiction someday, but I’ve currently convinced myself that I can build some sort of audience with blog writing. Trying out different genres is part of the writer’s job, anyways. I’ve had a lot of people tell me that they can actually hear me talking to them when they’ve read my nonfiction writing. Apparently I can capture my narrative voice pretty well.

Well, that’s all I really have for today. It’s been a pretty lazy, wonderful Sunday if I do say so myself.

Leave a Reply

